brisbane strikers

In 1997, Brisbane Strikers captured the NSL Grand Final in front of a record crowd of 40,446. Coached by player-coach Frank Farina, they finished second on the ladder to Sydney United before winning an epic semi-final playoff over two legs.

Since winning the NSL in 1997, Brisbane Strikers have kept up their impressive performances and remain one of Queensland’s premier football clubs. They currently compete in the Queensland State League.


Brisbane Strikers were established in 1994 in Australia’s top club competition, the National Soccer League and remain one of Queensland’s premier football clubs today. Dr Clem Jones AO (former Lord Mayor of Brisbane) established them with a vision to provide professional football opportunities to talented young Queenslanders and they have faithfully followed his vision ever since.

At first, Brisbane Strikers were owned by the Queensland Soccer Federation (QSF), who in turn handed control to a Trust Management Group consisting of Ian Brusasco (former President of both QSF and ASF), Clem Jones (former Lord Mayor of Brisbane) and leading football official Frank Speare. Coached by Bruce Stowell for three seasons, they finished fourth in 1995/96 to qualify for their first NSL finals appearance, losing out in a semi-final playoff over two legs to Sydney United in two-legged tie.

The Strikers have a proud heritage in the Football Federation Australia Cup, Australia’s national knockout Cup football competition. In 2014, they qualified through Brisbane zone for the Round of 32 and made history when their tie against Newcastle-based club Broadmeadow Magic became the first live televised game of the new Cup competition.

Home ground

Established in 1991 as Brisbane United, the Strikers have been an iconic part of Australian football for two decades. Based in Bowen Hills, they play their home matches at Perry Park 5,000-capacity stadium that served as a military base during World War II for Australia’s, British and New Zealand’s armed forces.

The club has earned a well-deserved reputation for player development, with their Mini Strikers program providing an encouraging environment to help children reach their full potential through energetic, safe, educational and physical activities. Furthermore, the club provides legitimate pathways for young players to join the first team competing at NPL Queensland level.

In 2003, after an absence of over a decade, the Strikers returned to the National Soccer League (NSL), winning its grand final against an enthusiastic 11,015 at Perry Park. That same year they also competed in the National Premier Leagues Queensland – a top-tier state level association football tournament run by Football Queensland.

Leagues played

Brisbane Strikers have competed in a number of leagues throughout their history, such as the National Soccer League, Australian Football League and Queensland Premier League.

In 1997, Newcastle Strikers achieved their first title with a 2-0 win against Sydney United at Lang Park. The Grand Final drew an audience of 40,446 and featured player-coach Frank Farina leading his side.

Due to their success in the NSL, the Strikers were invited to compete in the FFA Cup. Unfortunately, they were drawn against Darwin side Shamrock Rovers/Darwin FC during Round of 32 play-offs.

Darwin Football Stadium witnessed their team advance to the Round of 16 with a commanding 6-0 victory, earning them a place in the Round of 16. Following this impressive win, they went on to win two more matches to finish second overall on the table.


The Brisbane Strikers have long been considered one of Queensland’s premier soccer teams and have achieved a number of notable accomplishments during their brief history. In three titles won during PlayStation 4 National Premier League play, and currently working towards qualifying for the Hyundai A-League competition.

One of the more memorable occasions occurred in 1997, when Melbourne Strikers beat Sydney United 2-0 to secure their first NSL title and earn a home grand final match. It was an amazing feat – 40,446 fans packed into Lang Park to witness history being made.

Recently, the Strikers have had a turbulent journey under numerous managers and are currently trying to escape relegation traps. Their latest incarnation is under former A-League stars Stuart McLaren and Luciano Trani’s guidance; additionally they have new owners in Queensland businessmen Sottile & Suranyi as well as Bosnian-born Brisbane businessman Dino Hasanovic.